Measuring City IQ

The understanding about Smart Cities in general, is limited. One of the main reason behind this is, because it is a new concept. So to reduce ambiguities, there are standards developed.

ISO 37120 Sustainable development of communitiesIndicators for city services and quality of life defines and establishes methodologies for a set of indicators to steer and measure the performance of city services and quality of life. This standard was developed by ISO project committee ISO/TC 268.

Standards are important for consistency and comparisons over time or across cities.

17 Themes and 100 Indicators are used to certify cities into five categories:


Schematic themes for ISO 37120




And based on these criteria, WCCD (World Council of City Data), gives a city one of the following certification levels –

WCCD Smart City Certification

The WCCD Global Cities Registry, has a total of 88 cities as of Aug 2018. The city distribution among the various certification levels is, 14 Aspirational, 0 Bronze, 0 Silver, 9 Gold and 65 Platinum. You can view the entire list here:

4 cities from India have made it to the list. Jamshedpur(Gold), Surat(Gold), Pune(Platinum) and Ahmedabad(Platinum).


(The above slides are from the excellent and inspiring talks of Prof Raj Jain)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s